Audiobook Review, Thriller

Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman

Something in the WaterSomething in the Water by Catherine Steadman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Great, quick beach read! And one of Reese Witherspoon’s Book Club picks!

Erin and Mark have the honeymoon of a lifetime on the paradise island of Bora Bora in French Polynesia. They arrive as the Four Seasons to a beautiful hotel suite and five star service. With adventure in mind, they go scuba diving in the middle of the ocean and suddenly find themselves surrounded by thousands of pages of soggy, blank pieces of paper. But paper isn’t all they will stumble upon. When they pull a mysterious duffel bag out of the water, they know that something unusual has happened in the treacherous ocean waters. But things get stranger when they finally open the duffel bag and find the secrets hidden within. Their lives will never be the same.

Full of mystery, greed, betrayal, secrets, cover ups, lies, and desperation, Something in the Water was one of the quickest audiobooks I’ve listened to in a while. Catherine Steadman was able to walk that fine line of weaving a complex tale that keeps the reader engaged while keeping the story relatively simple with little chance for confusion. Sometimes thrillers can have a tendency to get very convoluted in an attempt to throw the reader off track, but this story was able to stay pretty even-keeled and still pack a powerful punch at the end. I very much enjoyed the twist at the end.

I will say my one complaint was that the book wrapped up very quickly and there were pieces of the story that felt somewhat unresolved. But that’s a very small gripe for a story that was wonderful overall.

From an audiobook perspective, it was narrated by the author herself, and she did a great job. There were several phone calls that took place throughout the course of the narrative, and one of the things I found interesting during the audio was that the telephone calls were edited in such a way that they had a techno/electronic quality which made them sound like they were really happening via a phone. It was something I hadn’t heard previously on an audibook and I enjoyed the added touch.

Overall, anybody who likes books in the vein of Ruth Ware or J.P. Delaney would enjoy this book. It is very quick paced and an easy read. Would highly recommend.

View all my reviews

1 thought on “Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s