Mystery, Thriller

Hunting Annabelle by Wendy Heard

Hunting AnnabelleHunting Annabelle by Wendy Heard

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Expected publication December 18th!

I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway! I always try my hardest to read and review my giveaway book, and if you don’t, you should! I discover a lot of books I wouldn’t otherwise through the giveaway process and it’s always fun to get new, unique reads on my shelf.

Hunting Annabelle was no exception. It was the perfect book for a spooky fall night.

Sean is kind of a loner. Sean might be a bit mentally unstable. Sean has killed before and spent years in an institution being rehabilitated. But, he’s done killing. In walks Annabelle, a beautiful ray of light in his world. Until Annabelle disappears. And Sean becomes the number one suspect. But, he’s certain something else is at play here and he won’t stop until he finds her.

This book was set in the 1980s which gave it a retro feel. There were no cell phones. The internet wasn’t really a thing. It makes the investigative elements much more difficult. I loved the 1980s angle.

Hunting Annabelle is jam packed full of twists and turns. Just when you think you know what’s going on, you don’t. And it was kind of messed up, with some gruesome elements that may be hard for some to stomach. It reminded me a little bit of You by Caroline Kepnes mixed with a little bit of Karin Slaughter.

Would recommend to anybody looking for a dark, gothic, twisty novel in the vein of Caroline Kepnes or Karin Slaughter.

-Thank you to Goodreads, Wendy Heard, and MIRA Books for hosting this giveaway and giving me the opportunity to read and review.-

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s