Audiobook Review, Mystery, Thriller

An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena

An Unwanted GuestAn Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Loved this! I just recently read Shari Lapena’s A Stranger in the House and enjoyed it. I had been wanting to read her newest book, An Unwanted Guest, for some time and finally got a copy from the library.

This book is in the vein of Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None and Shari Lapena gave her a little nod with the brief but appropriate mention of Hercule Poirot. It also reminded me slightly of Liane Moriarty’s book Nine Perfect Strangers with a more sinister spin.

Various strangers descend upon a quaint inn for a weekend away. They all have their own issues, and they’re all a little broken. Somewhere along the way, bodies start piling up as the guests are murdered one by one. The catch? They are snowed in without cell phone service or WiFi and have no way of contacting the police. So they must solve the mystery on their own before it’s too late!

In general, this is my type of novel. I love a good murder mystery/whodunnit. It’s like playing a giant game of Clue which I find super fun and interesting.

Lapena did a great job developing the characters. It is always tricky to introduce such a large cast of characters without the reader getting lost in which is which. But, I felt like each of the characters in An Unwanted Guest had a unique identity and I didn’t have any problem following the story. I could also very clearly imagine the snowy inn, it’s various rooms and dwellings, and the characters moving about.

The only slight let down for me was the ending. I felt like it wasn’t an ending that the reader could have had a chance at guessing and kind of came out of nowhere. So the ending was just okay. I wasn’t dissatisfied, just not “wowwed” like I was hoping I would be.

Overall, this was a very good mystery and I would recommend to the Agatha Christie fans out there.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s